Hits In The Xmas Aisles

A short totter to the supermarket (it’s freezing out) to get supplies and show off my new waddle-come-zombie walking style meant a slow enough wander around the aisles to be inflicted with pot full of cheesey Xmas music.Though for some reason an overlong version of Duran Duran’s ‘The Reflex’ (surely one of Simon Le Bon’s most impenetrable lyric attempts).

I was reading earlier that eight previous Xmas chart hits have re-entered the UK charts which probably shows the convenience of digital downloads paired with just how few records you need to sell in order to obtain a chart position these days. The ‘new kid’ on the block in terms of Xmas specific chart entries is Andy Williams version of ‘It’s the most wonderful time of the year’ which has been highlighted by its use in a TV advert for M&S. Ah, Xmas and marketing. Almost synonymous now.

AddThis Social Bookmark Button

 

 

Random post__Blogs I Read__Twitter __My Stumbleupon__Facebook

3 thoughts on “Hits In The Xmas Aisles

  1. Oh dear, poor you. The thought of having to hang around longer than is necessary in any shop playing Christmas music is too depressing for words. If I spend more than 10 mins in a shop at the moment I get to the checkout ready to kill the cashier and every customer within reach. I HATE Christmas music. I was trying to think which track I hate the most but I can’t even bear to think about them long enough to decide that.

    Do you not have someone fit who can do a live version of supermarket sweep for you – well, without Dale Winton maybe? Oh God, Dale Winton and Christmas music – what are you making me think of?

  2. Thanks RB-I doubt I’ll subject myself to the inside of a supermarket now until the new year (famous last words) and will get back to an online shop next time but it’s just the right distance for a bit of recuperative exercise (I had a letter to post too and the in store post box was marked as full-grrr) even if I am walking like an extra from 28 days later (I often get the ‘rage virus’ in the aisles). I think I’m getting immune to Xmas music. It seems that the Pogues ‘Fairytale of New York’ has become the Xmas song of choice over the past few years (nudging Roy Wood sideways) which I suppose is a bit different if only for having the words ‘scumbag, slut, and faggot’ in a Xmas ditty.
    It would be nice to have a personal shopper though (the camper the better but preferably without the glowing orange skin please).

Leave a Reply

