Recipe: Buttermilk Bread With Soya Bran

With the price of bread going through the roof (premium bread can easily be over £1 a loaf now in the UK) it’s good to make your own once in a while. The secret to the kind of fluffy bread I like is to use buttermilk but I like to add wheat bran, rye flour or in this case toasted soya flakes which has twice the fibre as wheat bran.

Ingredients

Two cups of strong white flour

3/4 cup of Buttermilk

1 heaped tablespoon of toasted soya bran

1 tablespoon butter of margarine

1 teaspoon of baking powder

2 teaspoons sugar or honey (split between yeast and dry ingredients)

1 packet of fast action dried yeast

Method:

Mix the yeast with warm water in a cup and add 1 teaspoon of sugar or honey and allow yeast to to activate.

Melt butter in a pan or microwave before mixing with remainder of the ingredients which includes 1 teaspoon of sugar or honey.

Once the yeast has has activated on the sugar and risen in the cup add to the dry ingredients and kneed for a few minutes.Add milk or water if required.

Allow dough to rise in place ether pre-formed into bread rolls or loaf. Dust with flour and cover the dough until it doubles in size (I put the baking tray over a bowl of water heated in a microwave oven to enable a low heat source from underneath).

Cook at 220 /Gas mark 7 for 20 mins.

If a softer topped bread is required then either cover with a damp paper towel once removed from the oven or brush with a thin film of butter or margarine.

Recipe can be modified by adding cheese , herbs, rye, sesame seeds etc to taste.

Download a PDF version of this recipe here.
AddThis Social Bookmark Button

 

Random post__Blogs I Read__What is social bookmarking?

4 thoughts on “Recipe: Buttermilk Bread With Soya Bran

  1. I used to make bread. In some ways I wish I still did. It’s only laziness that stops me. I say “only” but in fact laziness is a big fence to climb over.

    I made all kinds of bread: white, wholemeal, big loaves, small loaves, French loaves and bread rolls.

    For what it’s worth, here’s a tip. Whenever you make shaped bread such as rolls or French sticks, always shape the bread with your fingers; never roll the dough into balls or sausages, no matter how tempting this may be. This is because if you do, the inside becomes “ropey”: you get strands that are denser than the rest and don’t cook properly. It also makes hollows inside the bread item.

    Compared with when I was a kid, there is a magnificent variety of bread available on the market today, especially in delicatessens and speciality shops. I didn’t like bread when I was a kid, unless it was toasted or fried. Now I love it. Around us are bakeries where you can buy ciabbata with olives in, French sticks made from French flour (yes, it does make a difference), rye bread, country bread, etc. etc.

    I think I’ll start making bread again once I get tired of all this wonderful stuff you can buy ready made but I doubt whether that will happen soon.

  2. Please can you tell me where can I buy soya bran? I am sure that I got it in Holland & Barrat’s but they no longer stock it.

    • Hello Maggie, Yes it used to be cheaply available in Holland & Barratt but no longer. I think they withdrew it due to finding that it was GM sourced. Very hard to get now other than from one or two on-line stores and at much more than the 65 pence that H&B charged.

  3. I know this was posted ages ago but I got some in Holland & Barratt this week, the only downside being I’ve got coeliac disease and only realised when I got home that the packet says “contains wheat and gluten” so I can’t eat it! Not impressed as to why it’s in there… did anyone have any luck finding it anywhere else?
    Thanks

Leave a Reply

