1 in 10 Dispose Of 20000

1 in 10 Brits now have an average household income of £90,000 with around £20,000 of that available as disposable income whilst earning way above the national average but most of them seemingly just don’t feel well off as they think they should be . No matter how well off you are there’s always somebody else seemingly better off than you. Meanwhile Dave the carpenter has found the secret of contentment.

AddThis Social Bookmark Button

 

Random post__Blogs I Read

2 thoughts on “1 in 10 Dispose Of 20000

  1. I tried to leave a comment here yesterday but my computer said “no”.

    Good old Dave. It’s true though. My sister and I always used to call that sort of approach to life, the “Reverend Blue Jeans” approach. We both used to think that Neil Diamond song – you must know it –
    “Money talks
    But it don’t sing and dance
    And it don’t walk”
    Was called “the Reverend Blue Jeans” rather than Forever in Blue Jeans. And as children that was what we thought the Rev Blue Jeans’ philosophy on life was – money does not make you happy. He seemed a wise guy so it seemed fair enough. It sort of stuck. And I still call it that now. No-one ever knows what I am talking about of course. But nothing new there eh?

    You are reading “Affluenza”? What do you think of it? I read it last summer but struggled through it somewhat. I think it was the relentless case study approach that I found wearing. But something of it stayed in my head so I am glad that I perservered.

    If this comment self-destructs this time I will give in!

  2. Hello RB – I’m part way though Affluenza which despite the criticisms I often read of his writing I’m finding OK so far (not as hard going as Alan de Botton’s ‘Status Anxiety’ anyway) though James is probably just preaching to the converted in my case. I guess he has to do the case study references as it’s his main claim to any kind of authority outside of having a platform to make a personal pseudo political statement. I’ve always been in that school of though tthat says there aren’t bad people per se (I’m not a believer in ‘original sin’ as held up by some religions) just bad systems that end up leading people into making poor choices. I’ll see if I stick with it or end up speed reading my way through the rest of it.

Leave a Reply

