Recipe: Chunky Bacon And Cheese Frittata

Ingredients:

  • 8 rashers of rindless back bacon or vegetarian bacon substitute
  • A bunch of spring onions sliced
  • 8 large eggs
  • 2 tablespoons milk
  • 85g/3oz cheddar cheese cut into cubes
  • Knob of butter
  • Tomato salsa & thick slices of bread to serve

Method:

Snip the bacon into small pieces.Cook in a non stick frying pan for approx 5 mins. drain off any excess oil or fat and then add the spring onions and cook for another 5 mins until the bacon is crisp.Vegetarian substitute may require less cooking time.

Preheat the grill

Beat the eggs and milk together and add pepper if required. Hold back a little of the bacon & mix in with the eggs, spring onion & cheese.

Melt the butter in a 23cm/9 inch frying pan. Pour the above mixture into the pan and cook gently, without stirring for 5-8 mins until mixture is set.

Scatter the top with the remaining bacon.

Put the pan under the grill to brown the top.

Cut into wedges and serve with salsa and bread as required.

A PDF version of this recipe can be downloaded here

AddThis Social Bookmark Button

Zemanta Pixie
7 thoughts on “Recipe: Chunky Bacon And Cheese Frittata

  1. This sounds good. I will try it out on my mob next week. Anything with cheese is a winner with me.

    Does vegetarian bacon substitute smell anything like real bacon when it is cooking? I suppose you won’t remember. But the smell of bacon cooking is wonderful – the taste doesn’t quite live up to the smell somehow.

    Loved that track below btw.

  2. Veggie bacon does seem to smell like animal bacon yes. It’s just a flavour (not the horrible water pumped stuff the proper ‘old’ smell of fried bacon).It doesn’t cook in quite the same way so generally doesn’t need to be cooked for as long.
    My partner isn’t a strict veggie (being from the land of meat eaters) so I do get to (sadly) smell animal bacon cooking from time to time (I can stomach that but never boiled ham -that is too chuckworthy for words).
    Midnight Juggernaut? Catchy little retro tune that one.They have another track that sounds very ELO-ish.

  3. No I could never stand the smell of boiling ham.Some types of water enhanced bacon can give of a pretty foul smell when cooking too.
    Yes, Midnight Juggernauts have nailed a particular retro pastiche sound.The track that has decided ELO influences (together with some Bowie thrown in) is Into The Galaxy which is in my vodpod widget at the bottom right of this blog page.

  4. haha only you could say vodpod widget!! You know, other than quoting you, I have never said the word “widget” in my life and vodpod, well, what on earth is that? But I can see the video that you mean, lurking there in the sideboard. Better make sure I don’t click on Tanita by mistake.

  5. Yeah that is very Bowie=esque. But you know, both tracks are reminiscent of bowie and ELO but they BOTH remind me of something else and I can’t quite grab what it is. I hate it when that happens. It’s sort of there in my head but it won’t let me get hold of it – but definitely some other song. It’ll bug me now.

  6. Sorry RB I speaka da lingo excessively. So may online services, so little time to understand them all probably.Vodpod is a place to collate much of your fave online videos from YouTube, mySpace, Dailymotion (shock horror there’s more to life that YoutTube).Widgets are what the modules in the sidebar are commonly called. It’s just language init.

Leave a Reply

