Standing In The Light Of The MoonOS

MoonOS

I love the modular nature of linux desktops and distributions even if  the growth of the ‘if it’s linux then it must be Ubuntu’ fan-boyism can become annoying (I love Ubuntu but oranges, as they say, are not the only fruit). I’ve been getting close to modifying and customising a linux desktop myself  via remastering and was intrigued to find a desktop that had been built on top of Linux mint, itself a modified variant of Ubuntu.

MoonOS is a project started by Cambodian artist Chanrithy Thim and currently offers desktops based around the fast E17 and LXDE desktop window managers. Both are light enough to be used in virtualised environments with LXDE particularly suited to netbooks, thin client ,remote desktop solutions and low spec computers.It even runs on Google’s Android phone technology.

Subscribe to me on FriendFeed

AddThis Social Bookmark Button

4 thoughts on “Standing In The Light Of The MoonOS

  1. Ubunutu is a heck of a lot easier to use than other linux packages – for example my wife uses SUSE. Interested to see people working on different backgrounds, thanks for that.

  2. Hi, thanks for the post. I’d never heard of Moon OS and I’m going to check it out. I use Mint on my main desktop PC and I really like it, but I’m always looking to try something different on my EEE!

    • I hadn’t heard of MoonOS either myself until recently and was intrigued to see Mint being used as the basis of another distro especially as E17 and LXDE variants though it’s easy to add LXDE to standard Mint offerings which works well for netbooks along with the official XFCE version (my personal fave Mint flavour). Thanks for commenting.

  3. I work on my own Xubuntu clone called XXCE, but I’m always willing to check out the hard work of others. I’m currently downloading the newest E17 version of MoonOS and can’t wait to try it out.

Leave a Reply

