PlayOnLinux-Another human face for wine

Playonlinux

PlayOnLinux wizard install window-click to enlarge

A piece of software called Wine lets linux users run a small number of software applications that ordinarily require the Windows operating system.  PlayOnLinux is a free application that puts an easy to follow wizard style interface on top of wine and contains some pre-installed scripts to help load a number of compatible applications.

Since our Mac got fried by a lightning pulse I’ve returned to using Linux Mint full time but did want to access our saved iTunes library. PlayOn Linux has enabled me to easily install a working version of iTunes on linux. I’ve even managed to get a legacy music composition prog installed and working.

So if anyone’s using linux on the desktop or on their netbook like I am and would rather install a few choice  supported Windows applications for use directly within Linux rather than dual booting another OS or using virtualization technologies (the last two requiring a a legal installation OS disc and enough memory and hard space to accommodate the install) then I can heartily recommend looking to see if  PlayOnLinux would suit your own needs.

Other alternatives are Wine-doors (though in need of an update with regard to the available application install scripts) and the commercial (paid for) Crossover Office from Codeweavers.

5 thoughts on “PlayOnLinux-Another human face for wine

  1. I am new to linux. I am running Ubuntu 9.04, and have just downloaded playonlinux. I have an itouch 2nd generation and cant seem to get it to work with atunes. Can you tell me how to get itunes to work on playonlinux? Which version of itunes would work? Thanks.

  2. Hello Brett-I’m running Linux Mint which is a tweaked version of Ubuntu. I allowed PlayOnLinux to install iTunes itself (iTunes 7 under the multimedia section of PlayOnLinux) rather than trying to install the latest version from Apple. I’ve also resisted to urge to accept any apple upgrade prompts.Is iTunes loading for you or do you just have a problem with connecting to your iPod touch?

    • #
      2009 October 9
      Brett permalink

      I have itunes running, however my itouch doesnt pop up in itunes. When I plug it in, it starts charging and a window pops up asking me what I wanna open it with. It doesnt give me the option of itunes or playonlinux. Any ideas? Thanks for your help.

  3. I have itunes running, however my itouch doesnt pop up in itunes. When I plug it in, it starts charging and a window pops up asking me what I wanna open it with. It doesnt give me the option of itunes or playonlinux. Any ideas? Thanks for your help.

    • I must admit I’m not using iTunes for syncing with an Apple device but have heard that Birdsong can access the iTunes library & has plugins for connecting and syncing various iPod models via Birdsong itself.There is also GTKPod (http://gtkpod.wikispaces.com/) which I believe will only work if you ‘jailbreak’ you iPod Touch. Otherwise I think syncing with an Apple device directly with iTunes can only take place with an official Windows version running on a supported OS ie: running iTunes using Windows virtualisation on linux (virtualbox (free) or VMWare). Best wishes to you.

Leave a Reply

