RECIPE IN PROGRESS: MICROWAVE RICE PUDDING

This is a recipe in progress as I’m still playing around with this but I think it’s pretty close and down to personal taste anyway.I’m choosing to use the microwave as most rice pudding recipes demand something like a 2 hour cooking time in the oven which deserves a less energy intensive method to be explored.

Ingredients

1 Cup Of water

Half a cup of pudding rice (naturally)

3 Cups of milk or 2 cups of milk and 1 cup of evaporated milk

A third of a cup of sugar (less if using evaporated milk)

2 tablespoons of butter

pinch of salt

2 teaspoons of vanilla essence

sprinkling of cinnamon

Method

Wash rice several times and drain

Combine rice and water and cook in a suitable microwave proof rice cooker or bowl for 6 minutes on high

Remove from oven and allow to stand

I tend to wash the rice again at this stage but that’s optional

Now continue to cook for 4 mins (add more water, pre warmed, if necessary)

Transfer cooked rice to another suitable microwave proof bowl and add:

The milk, butter sugar and salt (the vanilla can be added at this stage if you prefer)

Stir before cooking for 10 minutes at a medium power (be careful as the milk is likely to boil over if your container is not big enough). Inspect and stir at the half way point

Microwave-RiceContinue to cook until the consistency you require is attained. The ingredients will continue to thicken when left to stand

Add vanilla and cinnamon as required

This recipe is available as a downloadable PDF here

 

 

 

Rice Pudding

Photo by kind permission of nizoz

Creative Commons license

add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: Digg it :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! :: add to simpy :: seed the vine :: :: :: TailRank

6 thoughts on “RECIPE IN PROGRESS: MICROWAVE RICE PUDDING

Add yours

  1. Hi there,
    I’m in Japan, as an exchange student (an English lass!) and was asked to cook something ‘British’ for a Christmas party here at my university.

    I have in my kitchen: one hob, one microwave.
    As most British cuisine involves baking I thought I was stuck but then I found your fantastic recipe above.

    I’d just like to thank you and also let you know that it went down *very* well with my Japanese peers, even though it was served cold (I think hot is far better!).

    Anyway, thank you very much- this is an excellent and easy recipe!
    Charlotte
    ————-
    Stuff (Em) replied: Thanks Charlotte. Glad the rice pudding was appreciated.It does come out surprisingly well in a microwave once making sure the cooking receptacle is large enough to accommodate any milk overspill during the cooking process(my own mistake when I first tried it).Thanks for taking the time to leave a comment. Best wishes to you.

  2. Hi – I’m a huge fan of rice pudding, and usually cook mine mostly in the microwave oven, too.

    Just a handy tip – try mixing 2 beaten eggs through the pudding at the last stage of cooking (ie, when you’ve taken it out for the last time – beat them through while it’s still hot and put it back in for 1 min). Believe me, it tastes like magic – I’ve never used a recipe without egg since I discovered it.

    🙂 Enjoy!

  3. PS – the egg does make the pudding thicker, so take that into account when you choose what stage to add the egg. 🙂

  4. This recipe looks really neat since I’ve been craving rice pudding lately, but I have a question. What exactly is pudding rice? Is it a specific type (like long, short, or medium grain or something)? Do you think the recipe would work with precooked rice, such as leftovers from another meal?

    1. The rice you need to use is called ‘pudding rice’ or ‘short grain rice’ – and no, you can’t use leftovers

  5. I would like to thank you for the efforts you have put in writing this blog.

    I am hoping to view the same high-grade blog posts by you later on as well.
    In truth, your creative writing abilities has motivated me to get my own, personal website now ;
    )

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑