‘Couple’ Britain’s 1st Permanent Offshore Sculpture

This newly completed sculpture pairing by British sculpture Sean Henry is to become Britain’s first permanent offshore sculpture. It will be part of a major coastal defence project and be sited off Newbiggin Bay, Northumberland where it is hoped it might help to revitalise what was once one a popular seaside village by placing it on the global arts map. ‘Couple’ features two five metre bronze figures of a man and a woman who will look out to sea and form part of a 200 metre breakwater that will be 350 metres out into the bay.

‘Couple’ will be set in place during this month of July.

Low bandwidth audio only alternative version(752Kb)*AAC+ :Couple by Sean Henry

(*AAC+ audio files require this Plugin(Win) or a compatible player such as Songbird (Win,Mac,Linux), VLC(Win,Mac,Linux)or Winamp(Win) however Quicktime and i-Tunes will play file at half the audio bandwidth and in mono only)


AddThis Social Bookmark Button

10 thoughts on “‘Couple’ Britain’s 1st Permanent Offshore Sculpture

Add yours

  1. Very interesting. Excellent work, by the artist. Not sure if i had an ocean view and had to change it in for the rear view.
    Might be cool from sea though. I am happy for the artist.

  2. Yes the permanent rear view is going to obviously be only be half the experience.I wonder if we’ll ever find out who the sculptures are based on.

  3. I hate to say it but those things come out when the artist….ummm retires ( takes the dirt nap.)

  4. I’ll be too old and senile to care by then. I won’t even remember who I am by then let alone my previous curiosity as to who this couple was.

  5. Excellent. Been watching the progress of the beach whilst on holiday visiting my father. The amount of people turning up in Newbiggin now to watch the progress of the work is excellent. Many people recounting how the beach used to be with families holidaying there when they were young. It certainly looks like the families will be returning giving a great british beach resort back to the North. The statue is outstanding, I can imagine lots of small local fishing boats taking tourists to see the couple ‘front on’ to get a closer look. A good old geordie pat on the back for the artist. I certainly can’t wait to leave France to visit my dad again and Newbiggin of course to see The couple.

  6. Hello Angela & Andrew, thanks for your comment – I do hope the piece re-invigorates that area as intended. I’d love to see it in situ from mainland and from out at sea. As you say I’m sure many local small boats will find an additional income from the demand for that ‘front on’ view.

  7. hi, i would just like to say its really nice walking along the prom now and its really nice to see the cafe open again NEVINS NIBBLES i was talking to the owners who were telling me that they have new ideas for the place which will be nice to see and also the cafe will have toilets in after all these years i cant wait to see the changes in this cafe its so nice to be able to sit outside and just watch newbiggin come alive again . sandra

  8. I feel the sculpture is infinitely more interesting with the figures facing out to sea, the figures project out to the space and take you with them.

  9. Hi there, I stayed at the Cumberland Hotel, Marble Arch, London last night. In the lobby was Sean Henry’s “Man With Potential Selves” with an explanation. I was so impressed that I looked him up and found his other work, including “Couple”. It looks excellent, and I think the figures should face out to sea because that’s what we all do when we go to the beach! I need to look up “Newbeggin” on the map now, and see if I can work it into a trip. I’m intrigued to see the “Couple” in situ and give Nevins Nibbles a look! Sue

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑