Paper scissors Rock Mastodon

Mastodon logo

It’s true to say that Twitter diluted my blogging output.

The lure of social media took me by the hand, pulled out my fingernails and crushed my fingers whilst I was intoxicated by b the smell of freshly baking bread.

I’m only human after all (well in part at least). Now Facebook is laying off staff, Twitter is in a state of flux and suddenly the non commercial Mastodon is seen as a place for worried Twitter types to jump onto.

In real terms the number of people suddenly signing up to Mastodon is only around 1/250th of the total number of existing Twitter users and some will find the idea of a non corporate distributed server setup struggling to cope with a sudden surge in use very confusing.

I get the feeling that social media might be on the verge of a decline or at least a fragmentation. More choice is good. Hiding in our our niche bubbles might be an act of self preservation.

We shall see.

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑