Open Office 3.0 Dev

Open Office Dev

I downloaded the latest developer version of Open Office, the open source office suite the other day more out of curiosity and a chance to contribute to testing. It certainly shows the direction that Open Office 3 may take.I admit to being more a user of  Zoho, Google Docs and Adobe’s Acrobat.com to meet most of my own writing needs.

This developer version finally runs native on Mac OS X & doesn’t use X11 as previous versions have and font rendering is therefore much improved. Start up was faster than I’d experienced in the past & defaults to the chooser screen as shown above.I’ll be putting it to use over the coming weeks.

Open Office is free and available for Windows, Mac & Linux

Developer versions here

AddThis Social Bookmark Button

Random post__Blogs I Read__

Zemanta Pixie

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑