Tape Archive: Smacking Edward Fox

Edward fox Single by SmackAfter waking up  a few days ago with ‘where’s Captain Kirk’ pinging around my inner mental jukebox and being put in mind of a few other quirky vintage recording in a similar genre pulled from the depths of my memory it was a pleasure to run into one of my previous mentions whilst transferring some old analogue recordings. Edward Fox by Manchester group Smack was a gloriously off the wall item in which a supposed article and interview with the actor is read out almost verbatim and which reminds us of quite how intriguing Mr Fox’s thoughts were at that time.

AAC+ version

For those unable to stream the 5MB mp3 there is an equally high quality but smaller (932k) AAC+ encoded* version available here.

(*AAC+ audio files require this Plugin(Win) or a compatible player such as Songbird (Win,Mac,Linux), VLC(Win,Mac,Linux)or Winamp(Win) however Quicktime and i-Tunes will play file at half the audio bandwidth and in mono only)

Songbird Music Player Recommended

Tape Archive posts

AddThis Social Bookmark Button

Random post__Blogs I Read

9 thoughts on “Tape Archive: Smacking Edward Fox

Add yours

  1. The words of the song were taken directly from an interview with Fox in The New Manchester Review.

    I don’t know what made me type in Edward Fox by Smack today but I’m glad I did: I produced this single at Drone Studios in Chorlton Cum Hardy, Manchester, which belonged to the late Paul ‘Machievelli’ Roberts. As to the band last time I saw Geoff he was going to study flamenco in Spain, and the bass player was playing double bass in a folky country band.

    1. hi rowland,
      john here (bass) how are you?
      spending most of my time over in W of ireland ( http://www.boghill.com if you want to see our place!)
      dont do much fender these days, playing banjo, mandolin and fiddle.
      saw ged a few times over the last few years (hes over near peniston and working in child welfare)
      not seen jeff for 28 years!
      all the best
      john
      ps its on youtube with a stills/video !!

  2. First time I’ve heard this track in 29 years – I had the chorus stuck in my head – Edward, Edward, Edward Fox and I remember it being a bit of a hoot.

    Thanks for loading it up – so much good innovative music around back then – whappen !

    Another song stuck in my mind for 25 years or so ( but thankfully re-heard recently ) was Do You Dream in Colour by Bill Nelson.

    Cheers

    1. Hi Steve thanks for commenting. Still catchy after all these years. I quite liked a lot of 80’s Bill Nelson which was obviously a world away from his Be Bop Deluxe output.

  3. I am Paul Roberts late brother Pete, as i remember it Paul recorded Edward Fox, at his studio called in Drone, approximately 1980…..of course with the passage of time i could be wrong?

  4. hi Pete, you are correct..we recorded it if i remember rightly as a bit of a throwaway in some spare studio time and with little rehearsal….sometimes that is the best way! John

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑